Changes to the Certified Scrum Master Exam Process

The Certified Scrum Master (CSM) exam certification process is currently going through some changes. Until now, everybody who attended a Certified ScrumMaster course and took the exam, passed. However, starting  on September 1, 2012, the Scrum Alliance  will update the exam content, slightly increas the difficulty, and introduce a pass/fail outcome.

Everybody who takes the exam on or before August 31, 2012, will pass and become a CSM. Starting on September 1, 2012, it will be possible to fail. All candidates have 60 days time and two attempts to complete the exam. After 60 days or starting from your fourth attempt, you will be charged US$25.

Once you have completed your Certified ScrumMaster course, you will receive an email from the Scrum Alliance. It will include instructions on how to complete the test online and a link to the exam.

The evaluation consists of 35 multiple-choice questions that require you to demonstrate your understanding of key scrum elements, including:

  • General knowledge about agile
  • Scrum roles
  • Scrum meetings
  • Scrum artifacts

The exam includes eight general knowledge questions, 19 roles questions,four meetings questions, andfour questions on artifacts. Questions are chosen at random, meaning that every candidate will see a different set of questions. To pass, you need to answer at least 24 out of 35 questions correctly.

If you already are a Certified ScrumMaster, you are expected to take the exam as part of your re-certification process.

Our training courses provide an ideal way to prepare for the new CSM exam. They are highly interactive and take you through the values, structure, and approach the specifics necessary to be successful with Scrum and at the exam.


We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our website.

You can find out more about which cookies we are using here.